ION Discover DJ controller - possible future support?

Hi all!

I’m new to Mixx, but I’m liking what I see so far!

I’m a Traktor user normally, but I needed something that would run on my netbook - Mixx seemed to fit the bill quite nicely!

currently I’m trying to map an ION Discover DJ controller to Mixx. I was able to map it fairly easily in other software (even the jogs!), but I’m having difficulty mapping the unit in Mixxx.

would there be any possibility for future native support for this controller in the future? I see it as the next logical successor to the DM2 - cheap ($99) and super functional. The jog performance on the unit is amazing, and it has just the right amount of controls for basic mixing.

here’s a Skratchworx review and video demo of the unit:

review: skratchworx.com/reviews/discoverdj.php
demo video: youtube.com/watch?v=zEhDEZ6xi50

I plan on letting my nephews + nieces bang on the DDJ,netbook,a2dj and not be worried about them ruining more expensive equipment…

Hey Corp. Man, you’re making the rounds on all of the forums which makes me think that this controller must be all of that. :smiley:
I saw the Skratchworkz video and was pretty impressed. I’m going to pick up a couple today.

I also use Traktor as well as MIxxx but my understanding from nem0nic over on the Stanton boards is that Traktor doesn’t have absolute messaging for MIDI which makes fast platter spin-ups impossible. This is what excites me about Mixxx as I have seen some pretty decent scratch techniques performed with the SCS.3D controllers (which I own) so I can imagine what the Ion can do if and when Mixxx supports it.

Keep up the good mapping work. Looking forward to seeing the Ion supported under Mixxx someday.

Dudes, you can write support for any controller you want right now using the MIDI mapping file format info and MIDI scripting. mixxx.org/wiki/doku.php/#editing … gs_scripts
You just have to have the controller in front of you to test with.