New Behringer CMD Studio 4a mapping

I’ve been working on a new mapping for the Behringer CMD Studio 4a and thought I’d share it here.

I came across one of these nice controllers cheap on eBay recently (with no software) so downloaded Mixxx for the first time. I found Borfo’s excellent mapping from 2013 (viewtopic.php?f=7&t=5803&hilit=behringer+cmd+studio+4a), but it looks like no work has been done on it for some time and I found it difficult to customise for my needs (nearly 850 lines of script was a bit much for me to take in as a noob to Mixxx! :slight_smile: )

This is the fifth version of the mapping (v1.4)
Documentation for this mapping can now be found on the Mixxx Wiki here:
mixxx.org/wiki/doku.php/beh … _studio_4a

I’m pretty new to Mixxx so so if anyone is interested in this mapping I’d welcome any suggestions for improvements.
Behringer-CMDStudio4a-scripts.js (13.2 KB)
Behringer CMDStudio4a.midi.xml (128 KB)

I’ve updated the mapping files in the original post (to V1.1), and edited the original post to reflect the new changes which are:

• The 2 deck FX Assign buttons now assign effects from the fist two effect modules in the rack.
    This frees up the 4 FX buttons for other uses (I don’t use effects that much, limiting the deck to 2 FX modules seems a reasonable compromise to me).

• The 4 Deck FX buttons are now assigned as follows:

1. Slip toggle.
    2. Unassigned.
    3. Beat-grid adjust.
    4. Quantize toggle.
  • Pressing the Play button while the DEL “shift” button is active now triggers reverse playback (this reverse playback will also “slip” when Slip-mode is active on the deck).

• The mapping files are now better organised and more fully commented to make them easier to customise.

I’ve updated the mapping files in the original post (to V1.2), and edited the original post above once again to reflect the new changes which are:

• The mapping files are now compliant with Mixxx naming conventions (I hope).