Pioneer CDJ350 MIDI Mapping

Hey there :slight_smile:

I’ve been using Mixxx for a few months, and finding it kinda terrible without a MIDI controller (not that it’s bad, just that using the mouse for jog is rather difficult).
So, now that I’ve bought decks (all Pioneer, 2x CDJ350, and a DJM800), I figured I’d hook them up.

Now, I’ve only worked on this for a few hours, but it is now very usable, and does almost everything I want.
There is no text hooked up, or LEDs, and the tempo slider is lacking resolution (compared to what the CDJ says it’s outputting).

I couldn’t see any controllers listed in the forum that weren’t strictly MIDI controllers (i.e. non-computer devices), so I hope someone other than me might find this useful.
Any feedback/requests would be appreciated :smiley:
CDJ350.zip (2.43 KB)

Hi DJ Skri,

Thanks for the mapping! I can’t test it because I don’t have a CDJ-350, but I’ve added your mapping to the Mixxx repository so that it will be included in Mixxx 1.8.2 and Mixxx 1.9.0.

If you update the mappings just post about it here and I’ll see it.

Cheers,
RJ Ryan

Thanks, RJ :smiley:
I’ve added browser functionality now, too.

I didn’t detail anything when I first posted, so I’ll do that here . . .

Normal stuff:

• Play/Pause
  • Cue
  • Tempo Slider
  • Seek (forwards/backwards)
  • Loop In/Out/Reloop
  • Jog Wheel (no scratching, though)

Abnormal stuff:

• Track Previous/Next: just seeks to the start/end of the track
  • Beat Loop (+/-): nudges the hot loop end point forwards/backwards
  • Tempo Range: changes the tempo slider range between 3%, 6%, and 12%. The actual CDJ ranges are 6%, 10%, 16%, and wide.
  • BPM Lock: sync BPM

Browser stuff:
There is a little context sensitivity here, which doesn’t come through in the GUI (at least not with the skin I’m using).
The controller script keeps track of which area of the browser window you’re in, i.e. tree or tracklist.